top of page

Hopeful Romance

I'm a hopeful romantic. I used to say that I was a hopeless romantic, but that no longer feels true.

I grew up watching Disney movies, where Prince Charming would complete gruesome tasks to win the princess' heart. I thought that I would find my Prince Charming one day & that I would get to wear a beautiful dress made from magic & sparkles. I would live happily ever after.

Now, you might be thinking, "Sophia, it's Good Friday. Why are you talking about Disney movies and sparkly dresses?"

My friends, I have tasted and seen of the sweetest of loves. I have found my Prince Charming. And today we remember the day he died to prove his love.

In the Disney movies, the princes always came back to their princesses after enduring their trials. There was never a question in my mind that they would, and the predictable ending was comforting. No matter how big the dragon was, how deep the pit of impending doom, how evil the villain, the prince always prevailed.

But Jesus knew that the only way to defeat the most venomous villain in the history of villains was to die.

I very clearly remember the first time I realized I loved Jesus. It was the fourth night at summer camp, and the speaker was teaching on the crucifixion. He explained the gruesome nature of Jesus' murder and even played a clip from The Passion of the Christ.

Jesus being stripped

Beaten

Broken

Bled

Nailed

Hung.

I knew the story from growing up in Catholic Church. I knew he was going to die, but the whole time the video played, I was trying to make it okay in my head. Like the Prince Charmings, I wanted Jesus to fight back. I wanted him to take his authority as the Son of God and obliterate his oppressors. I didn't want to watch him die.

I was in love with a man who was not coming back and my heart was broken.

This was the first time I wept for Jesus. I cried because he didn't deserve it, because every blasting pound of the hammer that pressed the nails into his hands and feet was for me. I deserved it, not him.

Jesus come back. Come back, I love you. (spoiler alert: he did)

I think about this moment every Good Friday. There is a heaviness and sadness that makes me not want to think about him hanging on the cross, because then I have to think about what I've done to make his death necessary.

But from the sadness comes the most beautiful happily ever after (that the writers at Disney couldn't rival in a million years).

"When he had received the drink, Jesus said, “It is finished.” With that, he bowed his head and gave up his spirit." (John 19: 30)


bottom of page